Baseball, Hotdogs, Apple Pie and Chevrolet

j0341745.jpg

Today was an American adventure.  My family went to a Memorial Day parade in Dacula, Georgia.  There were flags, marching bands, local beauty contest winners riding in convertibles, there were tractors, horses, Yaarabs, cheerleaders, cool classic cars, karate teams, baseball teams, soldiers, tanks, jeeps, parade floats and anything else that you could think of in an American parade.  There were hundreds of people celebrating.

Afterwards my wife’s family got together and we had hamburgers, HOTDOGS and other picnic favorites.  While the kids swam in the pool the old dogs like me stayed close by the widescreen and watched BASEBALL (the Braves).  OK, so there was no APPLE PIE, but we had all sorts of cheese cake and brownies for dessert.  Later in the afternoon I had to make a run to Wal-Mart to buy a battery for my CHEVROLET truck, so that I am able to drive to work tomorrow.

I was privileged to have an American adventure today because several men and women died for the freedoms that you and I have in this country.  For those people and there loved ones I am grateful.

This day also reminds me of a more important freedom.  Freedom from death and hell.  Jesus Christ paid the price for all the sins of the world and that is the ultimate freedom that makes me an heir to God and keeps me from what I deserve for my sins.

God Bless the USA and thank you Jesus for your sacrifice.

3 Responses

  1. Get a Ford and you won’t have those “battery” problems.

  2. No, the battery will work fine, it’s everything else that won’t work on the Ford. 😉

  3. Well, I had a FORD and a deer broke it. My Dad gave me a 18 year old CHEVROLET with a 7 year old battery, so I replaced the battery and everything is fine, but you boys better get to talkin’ to FORD and CHEVROLET about that TOYOTA stuff that seems to be making a mark. Sounds like another blog topic. Why don’t you take it Kurt?

Leave a Reply

