The Love of a Father

Sorry all for dragging my feet in blogdom.  Vacation was great and I took all advantages, including slacking on my blog.  Here we go…

 The Love of a Father

As the proud papa of two boys, I am always reminded of how much I love them.  I could brag on them for hours, but I won’t do that. 

Today, my youngest, Evan is sick with some kind of sore throat virus.  Fearing that he had strep throat, my wife and I made an appointment and hauled him in this morning.  Evan was very sweet, but the usual life of bursting joy was definitely not to be had by him today. 

The doc said that it’s just a throat virus that last a couple of days and you treat it with motrin.  Shoot fire!  These doctor visits get expensive and although I don’t want Evan to be really sick, I would like the satisfaction of a doctor’s visit for more than, “just do what you were doing.”  That’s like taking your car to the shop to have them tell you everything is good and you’re doing it right and then paying them $100 to tell you.

Anyway, after the good news, my wife, Dana set off on some errands and to meet her Mom.  Evan and I had some errands of our own.  He was really cool.  He asked if we could get lunch at Chik-fil-a and of course I stopped for him.  We did happen to make a run to the Lawrenceville Starbucks, but don’t tell anyone, please.  Then we went to the drug store to pick up more Motrin. 

While we were in the drugstore, Evan spotted a truck and trailer that he wanted to buy.  Pardon me, he’d like for me to buy.  I was at my weakest point and I had to buy it for him.  I love him and I would honestly take on his sickness just to see him all well again.

Which reminded me…

How much more does God, the Father love us?  So many of us were given the wrath of God picture as children and were told all about the rules and the disciplines of God.  I am totally for discipline and believe me those two boys of mine get it when needed.  But often we forget about the LOVE of God which is a greater priority than the discipline. 

God doesn’t beat us until we accept his free gift of love.  If he did, it would not give us the choice to love Him.  But He did do an amazing thing.  He took our sickness (sin) upon himself, so that we might be rescued from the results (eternal separation from Him and death and hell) of our sickness (sin).  What an awesome Father.  There is no greater Father and he loves you and me.

If your child asks for bread, do you trick him with sawdust?  If he asks for fish do you scare him with a live snake on his plate?  As bad as you are, you wouldn’t think of such a thing.  You’re at least decent to your own children.  So don’t you think the God who conceived you in love will be even better?

Matt 7:7-11, The Message

3 Responses

  1. Eric – glad to see ya back at it! You have a big heart for the Lord, Life and people – and I always enjoy hearing you share it! How comforting it is to know that no matter what we always have HIM.

    By the way – please don’t think ill of me – but I would thoroughly enjoy surprising Kyle with a snake on his plate.

    You and Michael have a GREAT time at Big Stuff.

    Marty

  2. Poor Kyle…

    I love it though!! Hah!!

  3. Sounds like the VAC did you some good. Rested and reflective. Nice post! Often this week I have thanked Him for not being the “big score keeper” that I fight off being. Go be Big at BigStuff.

Leave a Reply

