The Speed of Life

j0407422.jpg

This morning I had the privilege of praying with a couple in praise and thanks to God for their brand new baby.  I couldn’t help but remember what it was like with my wife to come home with a new baby, twice!  Those were great days and I love to reminisce sometimes. 

But, I am also really beginning to understand the whole life as a vapor concept.  My boys are 13 and 9 now and I can’t believe it.  It feels like yesterday when I was seventeen and graduating from high-school.  Twenty-three years passed by too fast and I know they just keep getting faster.

Tonight was a hallmark in my life as a father.  As I creep away from my 30s I am reminded that my boys are to become young men and very soon will be much more athletic than I can be.  I stood at homeplate tonight and my oldest son sucker pitched me to strike me out and he felt no remorse.  He knows I have thrown more balls to him, his brother and friends than John Smoltz has thrown in his career and I am sure I didn’t lose his respect.  But, he beat Dad tonight, the one who first showed him how to hold a bat or catch a ball.  What a milestone for him.  I am proud of Michael and Evan both and look forward to the days when I watch them teaching their sons what I have taught them.

Men, if you haven’t read John Eldredge’s book, “Wild At Heart,” you should.  It’s a great book on how we need heroes and we as Dads have our calling.  The calling is to raise these boys into great men of God and being the example of a hero for them.  It takes guts, can you do it.  I am going to try with every ounce in me.

Life is fast, play for eternity.

2 Responses

  1. Eric,

    Your writing never ceases to amaze me! Carl has recently experienced the same kind of situation you describe playing basketball with Joshua. I have heard that Wild at Heart is a great book and I couldn’t agree more that our sons, and daughters, need heroes in their lives. I believe our kids, probably more than any recent generation, need to be able to look up to us and see men (and women) setting solid, Christian examples for them to follow. I totally agree with you that it takes guts and tireless effort but the payoff, I have to believe, couldn’t be any more satisfying!

  2. Solid reflection, Elvis. We have a tremendous responsibilty to raise God fearing and God honoring children. What kind of examples are we to a generation who will be challenged beyond belief to hold on to values that stem from faith and hope in Christ? Way to lead big E!

Leave a Reply

