The Big Rock In The Road

Have you ever had something in your life that you tried to give God control or tried to let him lead?  Maybe He didn’t make something happen in your exact timing, or maybe His direction just wasn’t what you had imagined.  It just didn’t happen like you had pictured. 

I have felt this way many times, but I am learning that my way verses His way is just me ignoring His wisdom.  The interesting thing is that when I get out of His way, He often gives to me much more than I was expecting or asking.  When I have trusted Him, he has been faithful and when I am hard headed and insist on my own way He tends to let me go out there on my own.  I am learning that He is waiting for me to TRUST Him.  To place my FAITH in Him on everything.  It’s tough and I would be a liar to say I have mastered it, but I am trying my best to embrace the BIG ROCK IN THE ROAD.  For an explanation of the Big Rock check out Romans 9:30 – 33:

All those people who didn’t seem interested in what God was doing actually embraced what God was doing as he straightened out their lives. And Israel, who seemed so interested in reading and talking about what God was doing, missed it. How could they miss it? Because instead of trusting God, they took over. They were absorbed in what they themselves were doing. They were so absorbed in their “God projects” that they didn’t notice God right in front of them, like a huge rock in the middle of the road. And so they stumbled into him and went sprawling. Isaiah (again!) gives us the metaphor for pulling this together:

   Careful! I’ve put a huge stone on the road to Mount Zion,
      a stone you can’t get around.
   But the stone is me! If you’re looking for me,
      you’ll find me on the way, not in the way.

3 Responses

  1. I have also been guilty of being too busy with my “God Projects” to really be the salt and light he’s said I am to be. Great post and excellent reminder. Thanks for the challenge, E!
    ao

  2. One time a good friend pointed out to me that I was trying to dig a trench under the rock.The way he put it, and I’ll clean it up a bit, “You’re digging a hole for yourself. You are in the hole, digging, and throwing the dirt up; and it’s coming right back down and landing on your head. What’s spiritual about any of that?”.

    As I look back, it was a major turning point in my life.

  3. I am on to this thing Kurt has illustrated. We can’t go around. We can’t go over, so we try to dig a hole under. Interesting…with dirt on our head. That is a stupid look and all we have to do is trust and put our faith that God, our Father will love and take care of us. Then, we can walk through the ROCK! Ah ha! Good thought……..

Leave a Reply

