Great Exercise!

exercise.gif

Exercise is something that I usually wait until I get the urge and then when I get the urge, I usually wait until the urge goes away.  Actually, I am trying to keep my exercise regimen up right now.  I have a short list of stretches and exercises that I do everyday.  It has really helped me.  I have lost about 10lbs. and my clothes are fitting much better lately.

But that’s not the exercise that I was going to write about.  A great exercise for me is song writing.  I am continuously trying to develop a new song idea for a writing exercise.  If it feels right, I share it with friends and if I feel they are being honest with me and not just protecting my pride.  I usually try songs out on our congregation or some other venue.

In the last two months I have written nine new songs and the more I write the better I feel about my writing.  The more I workout my song writing muscles the more creative and simple I seem to write.  Just like any other muscles, you have to use them to develop them.

I challenge anyone who has thoughts for praise and worship to the Lord to write them down.  Who knows God may give you the song of His heart and it could be used to speak to someone on His behalf.

2 Responses

  1. And I’m loving it! Songwriting is just another way to pour out your soul to God and the congregation. Talk about authenticity…it’s totally from the heart of the worship leader. It blesses us! Keep it up!!

  2. Thanks for the support Lora. A great worship leader in her own right. I can’t wait to worship with RedShift Sunday morning. Thanks for your worship week in and week out!

Leave a Reply

