Worship Thoughts

As a worship leader my goal is to lead in a way that never bores people to death, but excites them for the Lord all the way to eternal life in heaven.  I am monitoring that always and changing whenever needed. 

First of all, who is worship for?  God our Father is the only answer.  How can we worship Him?  In many ways.  In our modern day there is too often a conflict with styles, volumes and other preferences.  When this conflict exists then the worship is about the preferences and not about Jesus or God, the father. 

I am forty years old and I am at least half way through this life on earth.  I can be an influence on the generations to come and it will be for GOD, not preferences.  When I am 70 I will accept the styles of the day because I want others to be drawn to Jesus regardless of what I like.  Life is too short to demand that those without Christ can only worship by the standards that I prefer.

That being said, I have come to believe that God is not sitting in heaven comparing all the hymn writers to the progressive or contemporary writers of today.  Likewise, I don’t think God is doing a seniority contest against the songwriters of today to those of yesterday or tomorrow.  When we arrive in heaven, I can’t believe that Jesus is going to look at us and ask, “Traditional, english, contemporary, spanish, progressive, japanese, or other?  And, the list goes on.  It’s NOT about us, but HIM! 

The message is this and it doesn’t get simpler:

You and I deserve death, hell and a life seperated from a Holy God because of our sin.  But the good news is that God has rescued us by giving His own Son, Jesus to pay the price for all those sins.  If we believe and accept this truth we can now be forgiven and spend a life eternally (forever, and ever, and ever) with the LORD OF ALL!!!! 

So……………………..LET’S WORSHIP!!!!   It’s not about the preference or music.

(See John 3:16, the most straightforward words in the Bible for how to understand the love that the Lord has for you.)

12 Responses

  1. It’s sad that conflcts happen about music! For those who do complain, I have to ask, have you truly tasted and seen? See, when you look at the word worship, it doesn’t necessarily have a Christian connection. Everyone worships something! And they’re good at it! For those who complain…I say, stop worshiping your selfish preferences and truly taste and see how good God is and worship HIM!

  2. I agree with you 100%. I enjoy the contemporary music that we use today. However, when I am in my 70’s, today’s “comtemporary” will be “traditional”. There will be something new. But as long as the message is the same I know I will enjoy it. After all, as you stated, it’s not about us. It’s about Him.

    There are Christians all over the world in so many different cultures. They each have their way of praise and worship and they all are good.

    I like something that Mike said in his sermon a few weeks ago. “We are all made to worship the way God created us”. For some, that is raising hands and shouting. For others it could be more inwardly. They are both good – just different.

    Let’s all just remember to keep the message true and not watered down.

    God bless ya’ll.

  3. but i laikey my qhoir!!!

  4. Amen! I couldn’t agree more. If I look like I’m riding a horse when I worship – at least I’m not doing it like David who did it naked!

    Very well said Eric!!!

  5. I don’t believe I could have said it any better than that!

    You Da Man!

    “Change” … Gotta Love It!

  6. YOU GOT IT RIGHT ON!!! NOTHING ELSE TO SAY!

  7. You are absolutely right. It is great to see more and more people worshipping the Lord. I really enjoy when this happens. The feeling is just unexplainable and the reward is so great to give back a little for so much that was given for us.

  8. Bottomline. Whenever the name of Jesus is mentioned we should fall on our faces in surrender. Style has very little to do with that!

  9. Right on!!! If it honors Him its WORSHIP! God loves variety – just look around you at Nature and we know this to be true! Nature speaks to different people in different ways – God’s children are all different in the same way and we as Christians and our Christian leaders to to keep that in mind.

    The important question is Does It honor Him?

  10. Awesome and I agree! You go boy!

  11. I getcha! I’m fifty years old — and have been the worship leader (back when they call it “minister of music”) in 3 different churches. Over the last 10 years or so – I have come through a personal evolution regarding worship, and I agree with what you’re saying. My personal preference has me at a church where the leadership of the church leads with the style that I enjoy. And I think that has become a real challenge for many churches… to lead unapologetically with a sense of style that truly fits who they are. I can appreciate hymns – but I don’t want to worship where I have to hear too many of them. For me – most of them are old, boring, and usually seem culturally irrelevant… but that doesn’t make them wrong or bad. It would, however, make me wrong and bad if I attended a church that had that “hymnish” style and I tried to make them change, complained all the time, gossiped about it, and generally made trouble. That would be selfish, arrogant, short-sighted — and displeasing to God. There are tons of churches. And – there are at least 2 or 3 good churches of virtually every style out there. It’s not hard to find a church that will cater to our personal styles… but, it is hard to find a church where the leadership is fully committed to a style and where the people (some of them) aren’t shy about making themselves the focal point with their disdain for the work of those who are busy serving (and worshiping).
    Here’s what I think (not what I know – just what I think)… Heaven’s music and worship is going to have the energy (and volume) of a Who or Aeorsmith concert. I’m going to be in a church where the music and worship allow me to practice for the day I’ll be standing before my Lord – and worshiping Him with drums – in dance – with cymbals -etc. If there’s an old Hammond organ in the corner, that’s fine too — I won’t whine or complain about it.

  12. If you’re not content with the style of worship in your church, I would suggest you do five things:

    Acknowledge that what reaches you isn’t necessarily what reaches others. Just as there are different tastes in food, there are very different tastes in music.
    Don’t demand that the entire worship service be for you. Maybe someone is being reached by the music that you don’t like.
    Don’t be divisive and spread discontent to others. The Bible doesn’t say much about music styles, but it has a lot to say about church unity.
    Find musical fulfillment in other ways. You don’t have to leave your church. Listen to tapes or attend meetings during the week where your style of music is done well.
    Participate in worship even if the musical style isn’t your favorite. If visitors see you scowling or shaking your head, ridiculing or pouting, they’ll conclude, “This isn’t for me.” But if they see a united church singing with joy and enthusiasm, they are impressed and convicted.
    When Paul and Silas sang and prayed until midnight in the Philippian prison, the jailer overheard them. When and earthquake released them, the jailer asked, “What must I do to be saved?” The genuine worship of God cultivated the jailer’s heart to receive the word of God. You and I would not recognize any of the songs they sang or resonate with the tunes, but God used them to touch the jailer.

    So, “Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom, and as you sing psalms, hymns and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him” (Colossians 3:16-17)

Leave a Reply

