Health Food Today

OK.  All this Varsity talk on the previous post and orders of this marvelous delicacy of chili dogs and onion rings is making me yearn for some spiritual health food.  

My reading for this week comes from the book Visioneering.  Care to guess who the author is?  Yep, Andy Stanley.  I’d like to share my summarized excerpt.  Here goes:

Dreamers and Visionaries

If you read the story of Nehemiah and his desire/vision to rebuild the wall, you will see that as a visionary he prayed that God would not just rebuild the wall, but that God would use him to rebuild it.  Dreamers dream about things being different.  Visionaries envision themselves making a difference. 

My take away:  I need to always be praying for the opportunity that God will use me in His plan.  Dreaming is good, but dreamers only dream about things being different.  I want to be considered a visionary. 

Any other visionaries out there?

4 Responses

  1. Thank you Eric (and Andy). For most of my life I have definitely been a dreamer. But, I am sincere in my desire (and the work I am willing to do) to become – and be – a visionary. Awesome post.

  2. Eric, what great timing God has! I need this not only for life but for our business as well. Thanks for helping a brother out without even knowing it! Miss you guys!

  3. Jason: I’m praying that God will continue to bless your family and business. Thanks for the kind words. We miss a lot of people at Zion, but we know God has great things planned, we’re just having to wait on Him.

    Thanks for commenting.

  4. Hi Eric,

    I love that book. I read it about 3 years ago, and I should read it again. The Bible says we should please God, not man. I think that God gives us dreams and visions the way He wants them done. Thanks for bringing this up. I’ll go dig out my copy and dust it off! I think of y’all often.

    Julie

Leave a Reply

