Are You A Visionary Leader?

I would like to suggest a book for those of you who are visionary church leaders.  You may already be aware or have read it, but besides the Bible it is one of the slickest books dealing with vision and strategy for ministry.  Here it is:

 The guys from North Point Community Church put  this book together and this is their strategy.  Now I’m not saying that their strategy fits all circumstances, but I will say that all the principles fit no matter the circumstances.

I am going to offer some tidbits from the book for you, but I suggest that you go purchase and wear this book out if you are a leader. 

Practice #1Clarify the Win

Ask yourself what the most important thing?  Why do you lead?

Practice #2Think Steps, Not Programs

Make things easy to do and strategic, too many good programs can get in the way of easy and strategic.

Practice #3Narrow the Focus

Don’t try to do everything.  Instead do a few things really well.

Practice #4Teach Less for More

Everyone doesn’t need to know everything.  It’s more important to get the right information to the right people.

Practice #5Listen to Outsiders

Focus your efforts on those you are trying to reach from those you are trying to keep.

Practice #6Replace Yourself

Leave a legacy and prepare an exit strategy.  One day you will exit.  Prepare the way for those to follow.

Practice #7Work On It

For your relevance, sanity and effectiveness you must evaluate what you are doing and how you are doing it.

7 Responses

  1. Vision doesn’t mean much when FEAR or DOUBT take over…

    Who cares what you “see,” if you aren’t willing to step out of the boat to go get it?

    my 2 cents.

  2. ooooooohhhh, AO. u got my teeth bleeding just now!!! nice nice. i loved that book EB, it’s IMHO one of the best out there on how to do the whole ministry and church thing RIGHT. no doubt!!! Andy and Reggie did this one top notch. and NPCC is proof that when one is serious about these disciplines, you get to be in the top 4 fastest growing churches in the USA.

    Strategic … love that!!!

  3. Flav shared this book with me about a year ago (yes, Flav, I need to return it to you!). Really enjoyed and learned from it.( I really don’t want to return it to Flav.)

    Yep! I love Strategic, too! My family gets a kick out of me (actually they hate it) when I grab my pen and paper! I love to “strategize”.

    I need to plan a strategy for getting Flav’s book back to him!

    Eric, great to hear from you !

  4. Marty-

    you can keep the book. you are one strategic leader. GOLD, that’s what you are when it comes to servant leadership. i wish churches everywhere had more leaders like you!

    so there, you don’t need a plan to get it back to me. keep it, push it in people’s faces and don’t settle till it’s DONE!

    you’re welcome!

  5. Referred to this website by a friend and have found it to be very informative and helpful. I am a pastor in Wilmington NC. Will continue to interact with you. Thanks, David

  6. I would suggest reading Visioneering.

  7. I haven’t read the book — but, I’m going to. If you and Flav both say it’s a good read – I’d be an idiot to ignore it. Anyway, I can’t comment on the book – but I can say that Andy and Reggie do know what they’re talking about… and more importantly, they don’t just talk about it or write about it — they do it. North Point isn’t the only organization making a difference for Christ… but, they’re one of few. I’ll get back to you on the book.

Leave a Reply

