A Great Gift

I had a change in my job situation back in August.  I went from having one, to not having one.  Basically, there was a difference in opinion of leadership and direction issues that I felt was totally the opposite for what God made me.  When the time presented itself, I resigned.  It’s been an adventure, but it was the right decision.

OK.  As many Americans, I had no idea that our country was quite in the financial turmoil that it’s in, but it is.  Obviously, that has slowed down the job search, but I have found one and it looks like I will be starting in January.  Thanks to so many of you for your prayers. 

Now, I’ll get to the real story.  Due to the time that I have had available while interviewing, I decided to take an hourly job at a services company near the Gwinnett Civic Center.  The company has been very accommodating and flexible.  I have worked there for three weeks. 

Basically, the job is mailing, packaging of HR, marketing materials and other odds and ends services.  Our day starts at 7:30am and ends at 4:00pm.  We have two fifteen minute breaks and a thirty minute lunch.  You know, like Fred Flintstone and the gang.  I have to admit, my pride was a little bruised the first few days, but I have come to realize that I have been given a GREAT GIFT by having this job. 

After the first break, these people have a prayer and quick devotion time before getting back on the clock.  I have kept quiet and most of them have no idea of my background, but I love this God time together.  It is such a blessing and so real.  I have become friends with many of these people and I have done it in my own quirky way and it’s been good.  I’ve been able to help a few of these people a little, but they have helped me more than they know.

If anyone reading this is going through some uncertain times, can I remind you that there may be a GREAT GIFT right there in front of you and it may be the presence of God, the father, waiting for you to acknowledge Him. 

For me, I have been given a GREAT GIFT and now I go start each day with a watchful heart to see what God is going to do next. 

 JESUS RULES!!!

“For I know the plans I have for you,”  declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will listen to you  You will seek me and find me when you seek me with all of your heart.” 

Jeremiah 29: 11-13

8 Responses

  1. WOW! What a blessing this story is! Thank you so much for sharing!

  2. Eric, Sounds like the job you’ve had for a few weeks is the company where Beth works. They are a pretty good company as I understand, if that is where it is.

    Amazing how God places us in certain places to do certain things. It seems odd sometimes but it is all in His plan.

  3. Perspective is everything. His ways are not our ways. Yet He knows best! God can be trusted. Praying for you, my friend.

  4. Glad things are coming thru for you and your family. TImes are really hard and we must remeber to look up when we are down. Believe me, I have had to remind myself of this. We take a lot for granted and we should never do that and I truly believe that we need to get back to the basics of life, which is family and God.

  5. Congrats on the new job! That is great! Thank you for your message of hope. I really needed to hear that today. Unless Wade’s company gets some home building presales, his job is over in a month and our future is very uncertain. One option is for me to get my teaching certification updated and go to work full time, but I have clearly felt God calling me down a different path for the last 3 years. We might need the benefits and income, but it is just so much in conflict with where I think I’m being called. THANK YOU so much for your timely message. I love the story about your present job. God is so good! We wish your family a very blessed Christmas.
    Love,
    Julie and Co.

  6. Eric – As I read your blog, I was right there with you… in part, because I have been right there with you. I remember the whole deal that created your unemplyment status – and caused you to stretch your faith. I have sipped the late-night coffee with you and analyzed “what the heck is going on?” with you many times. And, I have been discovering beautiful attributes and enjoying the amazing presence of THE GREAT GIFT myself, all along the way. I still don’t totally get God’s timing and some of the things that He is able to use for His glory… things that are clearly not a part of His original plan or design – but He steps in and makes incredible “good” out of. Then again – “God is God and I am Not” (thank you Steven Curtis). ’09 is looking a bit scary, but for THE GREAT GIFT. And, you said it right (and is why I can still breath)…..”Jesus Rules!!!” Right on – Bro!

  7. Stretched…This is providence.This is salvation. This is love!

  8. Congratulations, Eric! Hope the new job brings a career that is full of promise, prosperity, and will allow you to continue to grow in your faith and share with others not known to you as of yet.

    I have always witnessed God’s love in the life of you and yours. I never worried about you – I knew He would take care of you! God takes care of His children.

    Merry CHRISTmas!
    Marty

Leave a Reply

