Proud Papa

michael-baseballSorry, I’ve been brainless for a while and unable to write.  Just too consumed to stop and post.  Maybe I can make sense of these thoughts today.

My oldest son made the high-school Freshman baseball team…yea!  I’ve always stressed to him to show how good he is with his play and let others be the ones to talk about it.  Well, I’m going to brag a bit.  So, either tune me out or check this out.

Saturday the Dacula High-school Freshman, JV, Varsity and Alumni teams all played each other.  It’s a great team and fan building event that goes on all day.  It’s an exciting time for the new baseball year.

My oldest son got to start and played short-stop for the Freshman team, an honor in itself.  He had a couple of great hits, but it’s always amazing to me to watch him in the field.  Let me describe this one play:

Crack!  It’s a burner towards third.  The third basemen reacts and dives toward the ball just out of reach.  The thought goes through my mind that the batter has an easy single and maybe a double.  Out of the corner of my view comes the short-stop, he dives parallel to the ground and the ball bounces and is swallowed up by his glove.  The short-stop jumps to his feet and makes a no chance throw to first.  The first basemen stretches and the ball snow cones in the end of his glove just before the runner steps on first.  He’s SAFE!  What?!  The ball popped out of the snow cone.  SAFE!  Still, it was an awesome play and it was MY son at short-stop.  It was so cool to hear the oohs and ahhs when he made the plays that day and it made me think back to all those informal little drills we went through over and over and over.

I told Dana, HIS mother….hahaha….(proud parents, sorry),  “You know…all those throws with that “Winnie the Pooh” ball over the couch are paying off.”  She just smiled and remembered with me.  I would lay in the recliner and throw this soft Winnie the Pooh ball hundreds of times and Michael would say, “Daddy…throw it where I have to dive!”  If his throw back to me didn’t land in the chair, I made him come and pick it up.  He got pretty good at both sides of that little game.

Fast forward to today, you know sometimes I get tired of all the drills I’m going through.  But,  I am hoping that one day they’ll all pay off and when I get the chance to be in a position to use what I’ve learned, God will be able to say, “I remember when we went through all those drills and I’m proud of you.”

I pray your drills pay off big too.

Matthew 25:21

 “His master replied, ‘Well done, good and faithful servant! You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things. Come and share your master’s happiness!’

« »

2 Responses

  1. Eric –
    This is an awesome post. It strikes a chord with me on many levels. I remember all those “drills” with my own kids. I also remember coaching Michael… and am also very proud of him – both as a baseball player and a Godly young man. And… like you – the “drills” that God has done and is doing with me? — well, I relate there too. Too much in this post to draw out and take away to get it on the first pass… but, thanks — I’ll be chewing on this one for days…maybe daze too.

  2. Awesome bro! Proud dad, I feel you! Go Michael Barnes!!!

Leave a Reply

