A Very FORWARD Post

j0432685I was thinking today….shocker, I know,  about HISTORY and how it affects the present-day and future.  So, here is my statement for the day:

To study HISTORY with no intentions of applying the principles discovered in order to improve current or future conditions is only a collection of records and knowledge that dies when we do. 

In order for us to be productive with HISTORY, or traditions, we must never allow traditions to become the source of our worship.  There is only One worth worshipping and One who came in HISTORY to give us hope in the present-day and an everlasting future and that was Jesus Christ.   It’s not enough to know about him or know all the rules of religion.  We must live a life that is surrendered to Him and use our lives to FORWARD His message of GOOD NEWS to all.  Otherwise, our knowledge of HISTORY, traditions and influence for HIM dies when we do.

Our church, GRAYSTONE puts it this way with this mission statement: 

KNOWING GOD AND MAKING GOD KNOWN

Nothing else lasts….

JESUS RULES!!!

2 Responses

  1. That’s right! You know, I was recently thinking about music in churches because it is such a hot topic. For me, as long as I am having a good quiet time, I worship in any kind of music. Anything about God or Jesus can get me fired up! BJ and I went to a church once and we did not know one single song they played (and they played for an hour) and it was one of the most intense experiences of my life. I was the only one there with Him. There’s my two cents worth.

    Julie

  2. Good blog E! I totally agree. So often we get caught up peering into the rear-view mirror. There’s a reason that the rear-view mirror is so much smaller than the windshield. You look in the rear-view mirror for assistance with respect to where you’re going. On the other hand – if you’re looking in the rear-view mirror for any length of time – it’s probably because you’re backing up.

Leave a Reply

