Thanksgiving thoughts 2010

My twelve year old son and I are spending the day together.  Here was my question to him.

“What are you thankful for?”  I know I shouldn’t end with a preposition, but this is what I asked.

His responses:

“I don’t know.  Is this a trick question?” he said.  Recessions touch everybody, even kids. 

“No,” I replied.

“Well, my family…my toys…my house…friends…a yard to play in…food…clothes and our cars.”

Then I told him this:

While looking at verses for giving thanks, I came across several that all said, “Give thanks to the Lord, for He is good and His love endures forever.”  He loves us and always will.  God, our Father knows all of the hardships we are going through, but still His love endures.  Even when we question those circumstances or His will for our lives, His love endures. 

Let’s think and give thanks for what He has done.  Maybe our perception will change and maybe we will bring positive thinking and hope to those around us.  Then we can move FORWARD and make a difference instead of sinking inward and being paralyzed.  

God loves us!  There is hope!

Leave a Reply

